Every year IBSA Foundation supports young talented researchers with their scientific research, offering 5 fellowships worth € 30,000 each.

Following the closure of the call on December 31, 2019, the Scientific Committee of the IBSA Foundation met to assess the 120 projects received.

It is with great pleasure that we announce the five winners of the 2019 Call:

– Concetta Di Natale: Pain Medicine/Orthopaedics/Rheumatology

Interdepartmental Center for Research on Biomaterials (CRIB), University of Naples Federico II, Italy
Project: Oxidative stress biomarkers for monitoring the Parkinson’s disease pain associated progression and evaluating new therapies

– Ferran Barrachina Villalonga: Fertility/Urology

Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School, Boston, United States of America
Project: Unraveling immunoregulatory mechanisms that maintain the immune-privileged environment of the epididymis

– Luigi Marino: Endocrinology

Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, United States of America
Project: A novel role for PTK2B in cultured beige adipocyte differentiation

– Tommaso Virgilio: Dermatology

Biomedical Research Institute, Bellinzona, Switzerland; Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Be’er Sheva, Israel
Project: In vivo modulation of sentinel lymph node response to melanoma metastasis to improve immunotherapy

– Zhuang Li: Endocrinology

Leiden University Medical Center, Leiden, The Netherlands
Project: Application of a gut microbe to induce satiety: a novel therapeutic approach for obesity and type 2 diabetes

More information on the 2020 Call will soon be available.